Title VI Compliance

Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 reads:


“No person in the United States shall, on the ground of race, color or national origin, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subject to discrimination under any program or activity receiving federal financial assistance.”

Under the law, state agencies, local or municipal government entities, educational institutions, for-profit and non-profit corporations and institutions that receive federal financial assistance are subject to Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Civil Rights Restoration Act of 1987. The Attorney General concluded that under certain circumstances, federal authorities may refuse to grant or continue federal financial assistance for failure to comply with Title VI and its regulations.

Federal regulations promulgated by various federal agencies require each state agency which receives federal financial assistance to establish a Title VI compliance program.

In 1993, the Tennessee General Assembly enacted legislation requiring each agency of state government to prepare a plan to ensure the agency’s programs are administered in accordance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964. The legislation is contained in Tennessee Code Annotated sections 4-21-901 through 4-21-905.



Shelby County
Community Services Agency
1188 Minna Pl. Memphis TN 38104